Fashion: who we are & who we would like to be

Fashion is the most powerful art there is. It’s movement, design, and architecture all in one. It shows the world who we are and who we’d like to be.”  -Blair Waldorf

First things first, a belated WELCOME to all readers! I wanted to begin by explaining why I decided to create DeenInTheSeams and what I hope to accomplish with it. When I first began wearing the hijab at the age of 14, I struggled to see the beauty and self expression in the hijab. I would see the “trendy” outfits my classmates would wear and I couldn’t help but feel left out of the socially accepted fashion norms and trends.

As I grew older, I began to truly understand what hijab meant for me. It wasn’t just a piece of cloth that matched with my outfit. Hijab is a visible expression of who I am and who I want to be. My religion defines me and therefore hijab is a big part of my personal identity. The hijab allows me to feel God-conscious and gives me the freedom to express myself to the fullest while tightly holding on to my deen (religion) and values.

In the midst of discovering what hijab meant to me, I began to shop a lot more to find clothes that spoke to who I was. Going to a high school right across from a mall really fueled my shopping obsession. I really wanted to find clothes and a sense of style that matched my personality and identity. Since my religion was the largest part of my identity, I focused my efforts on finding clothes that fit my personal definition of modesty and also clothes that made me scream “yes this is so me!” in the middle of Macys.

Long story short, my shopping addiction has skyrocketed but thats okay because I was able to use fashion as a personal identification that embodies my faith, personality, and lifestyle. I hope to use this blog as a faith meets fashion page full of outfits, Muslim fashion, season essentials,  news, and more.

P.S. This will be the first of many times that I will be quoting Blair Waldorf. You have been warned. xoxo

Leave a Reply

